My only regret

I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. Although it may not be apparent immediately, there is a reason behind everything. With that being said, I try to live my life with no regrets.  I’ve made a few mistakes along the way, but until I finish building my time machine there’s not much I can do about it. All that’s left is for me is to learn from my mistakes and move on.

Now I must ask you to completely ignore everything I just said. I do have just one large regret and it probably isn’t something that most people would guess. My one regret is high school. No I don’t regret going to high school for anyone who jumped the gun and said “me too…”.
Growing up people always stressed to me the importance of college. It’s your future, it will mold you and yada yada yada. Although that is and was true, no one said much about high school and all the experiences I’d miss out on by being dormant. One thing you can’t go back to or try again is high school. With money and time, you can go to college as many times as you want. At age 40 you may not experience the same social or recreational aspects as 20-year-old would, however, the education part is still there for the taking. Other than in a movie, when is the last time you saw a 40-year-old in high school? It can’t happen, not to mention the kids would eat you alive. Teenagers are mean.

If I knew what I know now,  in high school I would have….

  • paid more attention in English class. Ironically that would have been pretty helpful had I known I wanted to be a writer. Then again on one of my papers, my freshman English teacher wrote that I was superficial. She gave me an “A-” on the very same paper, go figure. This was a bad example, I’m glad I didn’t pay attention now that I think about it. Don’t they screen these people?
  • played on the football team. No salary cap and can’t get cut, I’d be a shoo-in. I probably would have been the 2nd string kicker, but that’s besides the point.
  • taken people’s advice about not going to the prom with your ex.  Stubbornness is a disease.
  • not chased after certain girls. You know that face you make when you aren’t quite sure what to make of something and ask “what the hell is that” ? Well in the case of 1 or 2 people, that’s how I feel when I look back at it all. Fortunately now I can display my “thank God that didn’t work out” smirk. See, every thing DOES happen for a reason!

There are many more things I would do differently, but I’ll just end this here. All I take away from this is to never remain dormant. Exhaust and explore all the possibilities, then make the best out of every situation.

– Vic Louis

p.s. Ok this is completely off topic, but have you ever hit the Skip button on your stereo while listening to the local radio station and actually expected it to skip to the next track? I know I’m not the only one.

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “My only regret

  1. HA kids in HS are mean as hell, i don’t think id want to go back tho!

  2. ESA (are these nicknames supposed to not identify the person leaving a comment, if so, I guess I'm busted)

    EVERYDAY I say how much I wish I could go back to highschool! I don’t really have any regrets about it. It was just such a good time in my life which I never appreciated until now. I would go back just so I could appreciate it!

  3. Lately I’ve been thinking the same thing. I wasn’t very social in HS and now I wish that I was. I wasn’t eager to attend my reunion because I didn’t remember most of them anyways so there was nothing to catch up on. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed my teenage years…outside of school, chillin on the block and exploring my ahem state lol…but not in HS. Good call homie

    ~S~

Leave a Reply

