Why you can’t take your girl to TGI Friday’s.

If you never heard of Friday’s, Google has your back. Short version, it’s a restaurant. Well maybe not according to some. Many years ago, there I was getting ready to devour my order of Sizzling Chicken & Shrimp when my date blurted out, “Friday’s is not a real restaurant.” First of all, I really like shrimp. When I’m about to eat some, it’s not a good time for someone to come out their face with nonsense. There is no second of all, but I’m just saying, I really like shrimp.

“What was that?” I asked.
I heard what she said, but I wanted to be sure. I like to be certain that someone is crazy before I make a mental note of it.
“Friday’s is not a real restaurant” she repeated, this time with more conviction.
With an annoyed tone I asked, “Because?”
Why the tone you’re wondering? Well because I really like shrimp.
She rambled on, “Look at the prices. You can get a plate for $17, compared to like Legal Seafood where it’s $30-$40 a plate.”

Mind you, this wasn’t a first date or anything. It wasn’t a special occasion. Nor was it a romantic night out, it was 4pm on a weekday. Just two hungry people who decided to get some food before catching a movie. I didn’t get to finish processing my thoughts before she continued.

“Oh, and usually when I go out to eat with my family or on a date we usually get a bottle of wine” she said.
I looked out the window and watched as the sun smiled back at me.  First of all, why do I need an entire bottle wine at 4pm, before going to watch a movie? Yes I do have a second of all this time. Second of all, who exactly is we? There was only an I when I put gas in the car that drove us there. There was only an I when the check came. Lastly, there was only an I when the little girl at the movie theatre asked “How would you like to pay sir?”

All jokes aside, when it comes to a special someone or a special occasion, I am far from cheap. However, in her case I can not express how bad I wished McDonald’s served shrimp and alcoholic beverages because that’s where I would have taken take her next. I believed she floated away from reality and needed someone to bring her back.

I honestly can’t remember what I said to her, but if you’re with me on this one I’d love to hear what you would have done. If you’re against me there’s a chance I may judge you (kidding), but please share as well.

-Vic Louis
p.s. – Good luck to my mini-me (aka my nephew). He is going for his yellow belt today. My sister pulled me out my karate class only after the first day, so I never even saw the likes of a white belt. She suspected the instructor wanted to do more to the students than just teach taekwondo!   She brought me to a new place the following week. That lasted all of 5 minutes due to the same suspicions.

5 Comments

Filed under dating

5 responses to “Why you can’t take your girl to TGI Friday’s.

  1. LOL!!!! I am with you on this one. I personally like Friday’s because of that low key feel I get when I’m there. No need to get fancy, no need to break pockets, just sit, relax, and enjoy an inexpensive meal with a tasty drink on the side. Your girl was tripping lol.

    ~S~

  2. Inquiring M.

    Uh… what kind of suspicions are you referring to? I hope none that relate to that of a Catholic Priest nature *shivers*… about the story… she sounds like a pain in the ass.

  3. Perfectly Imperfect

    “First of all, I really like shrimp. When I’m about to eat some, it’s not a good time for someone to come out their face with nonsense. There is no second of all, but I’m just saying, I really like shrimp.”~ Priceless!!

    “Why the tone you’re wondering? Well because I really like shrimp.” I’ll make a note to not mess with a man and his shrimp

    Had her first argument been about anything other than the prices I would have given her the benefit of the doubt. I bet had she been the one paying she probably would have appreciated the prices lol. This one goes back to the chivalry blog…she is def not a real woman. A real woman knows how hard it is to make a dollar and is more interested in the person whether in a friend level, hanging out level, or dating level. Shit buy me an ice cream and sit on a bench and talk my ear off fuck a wine bottle.

    Thats when you use the friend hot line trick 😉

    Guess she will be being her own wine bottles from now on lol.

  4. this was a trip! I have a fridays in walking distance from my house and its one of my favorite chain restaurants–it used to be chillis. I understand kinda what she meant–but she couldve articulated better. Fridays is very much a neighborhood chain, but it is indeed a “real restaurant”. and Legal Seafood is a chain also, just pricey one. hmph, the nerve of her! I’m a fan of the jack daniels ribs and shrimp, myself.

  5. Scrappy014

    you should have took that chick to burger king lol

Leave a Reply

