A moment to clarify

To the perfect stranger…
I was not put on this beautiful earth to impress you. My life is mine to live how I so choose. If you do not like or accept me, although unfortunate, I do not care. I can not live my life to meet your standards. I can not and will not pretend to be anyone except for who am I. Nor will I change my personality to be accepted by any group of people. At the end of the day I will always go home knowing that I kept it real, because that is exactly what I am. If you ask me, “who do you think you are?” I will simply tell you that I am the son of parents and I owe you no explanation.  Do not be so quick to judge me. My skin, my slang, and my swagger are not enough to tell you everything about me. You may be surprised what you find beneath the surface. The possibilities are endless.

To those around me…
If I stand behind you it is not for my own protection. I stand behind you because I have your back. If I love you I will follow you to the depths of hell to keep you safe.  However, make no mistake, I am not a follower. I was born to lead. I march to my own beat and hold my own drums. My burdens are mine to carry. If I ask you for help it is not because I depend on you. It is because you are reliable and I know that I can trust you. Trust you as I hope you trust me. As a real friend it is my job to tell you when you are messing up. However, I will never exploit your faults nor will I ever judge you. Nor should you ever judge me, that is, if you are truly a friend and not my foe.

– Vic Louis

5 Comments

Filed under What I'm thinking

5 responses to “A moment to clarify

  1. Inquiring M.

    Dang! Who pissed in your coffee?

  2. Clarity is Power….well said!!!

  3. Perfectly Imperfect

    everyone is Perfectly Imperfect and ever evolving.
    Head High

  4. sunkissed404

    ” My skin, my slang, and my swagger are not enough to tell you everything about me. You may be surprised what you find beneath the surface. The possibilities are endless.”…

    Ohhh nooo.. Tell me you not rocking a gold grill..? (I kid, I kid) This brings me back to this guy I met last year, who had just graduated college, and told me he hated Morehouse because they judged him because he had a gold grill he couldn’t take out of his mouth…I was uncomfortable, because I don’t do grills either, but I at least gave him a chance to vocalize his opinion… Point is… He was young, handsome, and intelligent…with a grill that he couldn’t pull out…What a waste!!

    But I love your writing style. It’s very floetic.

Leave a Reply

