When the time comes

“When are you going to get married and have children?”

That’s what people have been asking me a lot lately. Not sure if it is society’s way of telling me I’m old, but I have never really been a fan of everything society believes anyways. Although asked as one question, I look at it as two. Don’t get me wrong, I aim to get married before I have any children, however, it’s 2010. What does having a child have to do with getting married nowadays? That’s a whole other topic so for now I’ll just get back to answering the questions at hand.

Question #1. When are you going to get married?
The answer is simple really. To those asking, the answer is – as soon as you cut me a check for $30k!  $25k for the wedding and $5k for – well let’s just call it handling fee. Sort of like when you buy tickets to a show online. I know some people ask me just to joke around while others are dead serious. It doesn’t bother me one bit either way, but my question to those seriously inquiring is, why the rush? Marriage isn’t going any where, it’s not going to go out of style like jheri curls. I don’t want to be part of the “divorced after 1 year of marriage” club. The only statistics I want to be a part of are: graduated from college, haven’t been incarcerated, make 6 figures, and died from natural causes after living a long happy life.

I’m not one of those anti-marriage people and I definitely plan on getting married. I’ve been to two weddings in less than a month and it’s truly a beautiful thing. I’m sure there are others who get way more pressure than me, but why? What’s wrong with just being happy with the one you’re with until it’s time to take that plunge step? My final 28 cents on jumping the broom before it’s even been laid on the floor…and I quote

If someone is truly meant to be your future spouse, they aren’t going anywhere. Of course I wouldn’t use this as an excuse to intentionally bide my time. Don’t rush things if you aren’t ready mentally, financially and any other word that ends with “ally”. Weddings are expensive and divorce can be even pricier in the long run depending on what’s at stake. You don’t get a prize for getting married too soon, not even a lollipop.” says Vic Louis.

I took the liberty of quoting myself so you don’t have to (truthfully I’ve been looking for an excuse to use that feature). Well now that I’ve answered the first question, onto the next one.

Question #2. When are you going to have a baby?
Answer:   <blank stare for 10 seconds, blink twice, suck my teeth, raise my eyebrows and then walk away>

-Vic Louis
p.s.  Random as usual, but why in the world is there a Belly 2 movie?

5 Comments

Filed under Children, Marriage

5 responses to “When the time comes

  1. Inquiring M.

    “p.s. Random as usual, but why in the world is there a Belly 2 movie?”

    O_O… you tell lies!

  2. bubblez410

    Wow! I could not agree with this post anymore than what I already do! If things are meant to workout between you and your significant other in due time things will fall into place and marriage will come along. There should be no rush to get married because things that start fast, end fast.

  3. Perfectly Imperfect

    couldnt agree more with the stats you would like to be a part of…def super funny too

    AMEN!

    I don’t see whats the rush I think simply being with your significant other should be enough, if you have been together for years what difference does it make to get a piece of paper? If your hearts are already married to each other than thats all the marriage you need.

    till death does you apart or perhaps each other lol.

  4. best buddy

    Getting married is definitely something that shouldn’t be rushed but also shouldn’t be devalued like many do now a days. Yes wait till the time is right and you know that’s what both people want but don’t use excuses like ‘we feel married so what’s the difference’ there is a difference

Leave a Reply

