What am I doin’?

What am I doin’?
Oh, yeah, that’s right, I’m doin’ me
I’m doin me
I’m livin’ life right now, mayne
And this what I’ma do ’til it’s over
‘Til it’s over
But it’s far from over…..”   – lyrics from Over by Drake

Seriously, what am I doing?
I’m in a pretty good mood today despite the craziness at work.  Of course that song is stuck in my head and I ended up focusing in on that part. Maybe I’m writing this to remind myself as well as inform new and old readers. I’m here because…well it’s on the About Vic page, but maybe I should go into more detail? Perhaps step away from the future goals and talk about what I’m doing right now? Yes you say? Ok well…

Besides going toe to toe with heatwaves, I’m doing what most people are doing – working and enjoying whatever hours are left.  Specifically, I’m balancing my current career(temp?), my dream career, and every day life.  I’m currently doing the Monday through Friday, 9 to 5 thing. Unfortunately my current career is for the most part completely unrelated to my dream career (no, I don’t jump out of cakes for tips). There’s plenty of perks, so I can’t knock it. My career, not the cake thing.

For the dream career – I’m keeping active with this blog. Loving the feedback. Aside from the blogging, I’m on track with the writing. My first class starts next week, and another class right when that one ends. More to come in the future.  Looking forward to all of it. I’m piecing together plots and characters for the first book. Publishing my novels-to-be is my first primary goal. Screenwriting comes after that. Even if I decide to stick to just writing novels, I have to do at least one movie. Maybe 2..maybe 3,4,56. I want to visually see my ideas and words in action. I’m cheezin’ like a 5-yr-old on Christmas morning just thinking about it.

Every day life – well that is a whole other story. I’m keeping busy to make a long story short. Although finding time to do everything has been a challenge, I guess that’s the point. It’s not supposed to be easy and if I really want it, none of that matters. There’s definitely not enough hours in the day, but I can’t lie – it has been fun regardless. I’m enjoying it.

– Vic Louis
p.s Why does everything on BET look like a home-made high school graduation video? As if someone’s uncle recorded it with his video camera that he bought from Bradlee’s dept store back in the 80’s.

6 Comments

Filed under The Big Picture

6 responses to “What am I doin’?

  1. Inquiring M.

    LOL… based on the title I thought this was gonna be a riddle… I was SOOO ready! *sigh*… good for you Vic! FYI… when that movie dough starts rolling-in *cough* I make a great entourage member… I’m just sayin.

  2. sunkissed404

    lol..Oh goodness!! Cosign with the BET video thingy…I totally see where you are going. If you had everything you already you wanted already, you would have nothing to live for! I totally feel you on the school thing tho’. Got a 9-5 myself and having to make huge sacrifices to go to grad school…like living with tha folks 😦 …All worth it in the end tho. Keep writing!!

    Oh and uh..I make a good entourage member too.. @ I Mind.

  3. Perfectly Imperfect

    As long as your are passionate about what you want to do, it doesnt when you get there it will happen eventually.

    In the mean time there is nothing wrong with jumping out of cakes and there def is many perks that come along with that. 😛

    • “In the mean time there is nothing wrong with jumping out of cakes and there def is many perks that come along with that”

      uh huh… sounds like you should be sharing some stories with us!

Leave a Reply

