If my life was a song

My friends are beyond random, but I still love ’em. A good friend of mine randomly texted me saying “If your life was a song what would it be? Figure out the answer and write a post on it. There. Done my good deed for the day.” I thought it was funny at first, but then I realized I had no idea what the answer was.  That and if I have anything to say about a reader suggested topic, I’ll give it a shot.

This is a tough question actually. Maybe because I’m a little behind in the music world as of late. Maybe because I’m still figuring out this thing called Life. After some deep thought I chose “Mind Playing Tricks On Me” by Geto Boys (kidding). Seriously, after some thought I realized I can’t answer this question. At least not with just one song. I need one for every part of my life.

Love
” ‘Cause I Love You” by Lenny Williams. If you aren’t familiar with this song then you have been deprived of good music. You should definitely do a search on the lyrics and/or listen to it. It’s a hit song that has been sampled by more recent artists such as Kanye West and Scarface. I admit I didn’t know about it until Kings of Comedy, but whatever works – I know it now. Anyways, I picked this because if I truly love someone that’s how it is. I couldn’t have said it better. Actually forget looking up the lyrics. You need to hear it for full effect.

Education
“I Love College” by Asher Roth. Sorry, I’m not going to lie and give the role model response for this. For me, that’s what it was.  I never skipped class or anything like that, however, the parties were the highlights. Unfortunately that’s what I remember the most about college. I look at it differently now of course, but back then after partying all night I woke up feeling like Asher in that song. Like he said “Pass out at 3, wake up at 10, go out to eat then do it again.”

Work
“Chain Gang” by Sam Cooke. I would never compare my life or job to working on the chain gang, but I can relate to some parts of the song. For example, “All day long they work so hard.  Till the sun is goin’ down……. And wearing, wearing a frown…..I’m goin’ home one of these days….. My work is so hard.” I listen to this song and say, hey – that’s how I feel! Speaking of work, I want to go home now. I just got here 30 minutes ago.

Finances
“Big Pimpin” by Jay-Z. Ok I couldn’t say that with a straight face. I don’t think there is a song for me in this category. Most songs are about being rich, being poor, or the transition from rich to poor (aka ashy to classy).  I don’t fall into any of those categories.  Personally I like to think of myself as a rich, poor person. *shrugs*

Sorry E., I cheated a little bit on your question.  I will say that in the future the only thing I plan on singing is the chorus to Kevin Rudolph’s “I Made It.”

-Vic Louis
p.s. Got to love search engines. Someone was referred to my post 5 Things I Love on a Woman, by typing in “ankle bracelet slutty” in a search engine.

7 Comments

Filed under Life, Reader Suggested

7 responses to “If my life was a song

  1. e

    I wouldn’t even call that cheating. You’re right, there are too many aspects to life to summarize it all in one song. I wish I thought to break it down like that.

  2. Inquiring M.

    I don’t know why, but there was something so cute about you and E’s exchange… bromantical maybe? I dunno…

    So wait! We can make suggestions on topics for you to write about? “That and if I have anything to say about a reader suggested topic, I’ll give it a shot.” THAT’s WHAT YOU SAID VIC, that’s what you said!- I don’t have any right now, but I’ll get back to you.

    lol @ “My Mind’s Playing Tricks On Me”- you definitely got the o_O face with that one!

  3. best buddy

    Haha I’m going to have to think of a suggestion topic now 🙂 and glad to see your posts are being put out there for search

  4. bubblez410

    You gotta love music, it is so descriptive and great for any occassion/phase that you might be going thru in your life. 🙂 Music is essential!

  5. Perfectly Imperfect

    music is therapy…and its a lot cheaper than paying for the real thing.

Leave a Reply

