Things I’ve Done For a Woman

Another long commute to work this morning. To make it worse it’s only 7am yet it’s already 84 degrees. I’m being punished and not in a kinky way. During the ride I was listening to JAMN94.5 and Pebbles, the co-host of the popular Boston morning show, was talking about getting her nails done. As painful as it is,  she gets a particular style in order to please her man. Not because she had to or anything like that, but because she didn’t mind too much. I get confused during girl talk so I can’t really describe the style she mentioned. Something about sticking and being stiff and unpleasant. Anyway, I’m a big fan of women with nice nails so I can appreciate the suffering. After hearing that, the gears starting spinning and I thought about what I’ve done to please a woman. Keep in mind this is just about appearance, not actions such as buying flowers for a woman or anything like that.

What have I done for a woman? I apologize to any of you that shifted in your seats getting ready for this, but the answer is nothing extreme. Not as an adult at least. At most, I’ve probably changed my outfit 5 times just to find the right thing. Anything else I do is more so to feel good about myself. I’m more active when it comes to surprises or doing kind gestures for a woman. When it comes to my appearance I can’t recall doing anything too crazy or painful. As a child on the other hand, that’s a whole different story.

At age 11 I shaved for a girl at school. I wanted to look sharp. Doesn’t sound too bad at first I know. However, I shaved with a razor, didn’t use shaving cream and I had no facial hair to begin with. I had to explain to my teacher that I wasn’t being abused at home. I haven’t put a blade to my face since then. At age 9(?) for a girl at church I gave myself a haircut, with scissors. Again I wanted to look sharp. With my hair type, scissors aren’t really the right tool for the job. I don’t know what I was thinking but basically I cut out a circle on both sides of my head. Mom wasn’t too happy.

It’s interesting though. Even as adults some of us still  have the urge to do things to look good for a loved one or someone we’re chasing. To please their eyes. Not because we have to, but because we want to. It’s the  same urge we had as children. The only difference is we’re more mature and can control ourselves. Prevent ourselves from doing the silliest things. Well some of us that is. There are some who still do some crazy things in the name of love.

– Vic Louis
p.s. I started writing this a few days ago, just in case any Boston readers are confused about the weather reference. Have a good weekend.

4 Comments

Filed under men, Women

4 responses to “Things I’ve Done For a Woman

  1. best buddy

    Hehe I thought of one but don’t think it was for a girl

  2. Inquiring M.

    Good post Vic. I do stuff outta habit I guess, don’t want to be caught slippin’ ya feel me?… gotta put that BEST foot forward I suppose.

  3. “Even as adults some of us still have the urge to do things to look good for a loved one or someone we’re chasing.”

    Yes I think this is innate. My parents still dress up for each other after 20 years. If the love is still there, the desire for your mate to find you attractive will still be there. I think it’s great! I know I dress for myself and so do lots of others but it’s something a little more extra special when you’re doing it to see a twinkle in someone’s eye when they see the effort you put in.

Leave a Reply

