My PDA

It’s 11:40pm and I should be in bed, but I had a busy day and just recently ate dinner. I’m sleepy, but I can’t go to bed yet for that reason.  I should be doing work actually, but I don’t feel like it. I was sitting here daydreaming about fried dough and something from the tv interrupted my thoughts. Yes I just ate, but hey fried dough is my drug of choice. Now I want shrimp. If you’re new to this site, fyi I really like shrimp. Anyways, what interrupted me were three simple letters, P – D – A. It was a cell phone commercial, but it reminded me of something completely different. No not the medical condition, but PDA, Public Display of Affection.

When I was very young, for a while I just thought kissing in public and etc was just simply called kissing in public and etc. I had no idea there was actually terminology for it. I became hip to PDA when I was 17 maybe. Like most things I learned the hard way of course. After making an attempt to get a kiss on the train, I was told “I don’t want any PDA.” I was completely caught off guard and dumbfounded. I couldn’t believe I was being accused of having an STD. Where was this coming from I wondered. Fortunately before getting ahead of myself I asked what it was. She explained the meaning, but it didn’t immediately register. Either because I was more focused on my failed attempt or because the thought of STDs was still fresh on my mind.  I made a mental note and left it that. Funny how the mind works. I can’t tell you what I did last weekend, but that I remember. I find myself in one those reflective moods again. Comparing my views years ago to how I see things now.

Back then I didn’t see it as that big of a deal. Although I wasn’t an advocate for someone just jumping on my lap and shoving their tongue down my throat in public, I was all for PDA. Ok that’s probably not true, I was 17 after all. I probably welcomed that whole scenario. I think I have a good balance now, but I was a bit of a romantic in my teens. However, back then if I saw two people other than myself kissing, my first thought was probably – get a room. That is the default generic thought that most people are conditioned to have. Now I see it and my first comment is, “Why is your car door wide open blocking the street? ” Then I say “Get a room.”

I don’t mind witnessing others in their moments of PDA as long as it doesn’t go overboard.  However, not in the traditional sense. No not to hide it, but it’s just too obvious and predictable. I won’t lie, I’ve been guilty of this myself. I’d definitely be lying if I said it won’t happen again. Depending on my mood or my environment I might have my moments. If  I really think about it, what I like is the more subtle approach. Maybe a wink and smile from across the room. A discreet rub of the chest, arm,  or abs as she walk by. The kind of things that no one would really notice unless they were carefully watching you. All up in your sauce perhaps.

– Vic Louis
p.s. I wrote this over a week ago and apparently never posted it. Whoops! Works out though, I have a busy day ahead me. Happy hump day people, the weekend is near.

Leave a comment

Filed under relationships, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

