Spend Time With Your Loved Ones

Before I get into this, I first want to say my thoughts and prayers are with the families of the 6 teenagers that drowned in Louisiana yesterday. If you haven’t heard about this story you can read about it here. I didn’t hear about this until this morning while I was getting dressed for work. There is usually something sad on the news and it normally has little effect on me. However, I admit this bothered me a little bit and provoked thought.

I suspect that many people don’t give much thought about losing loved ones. Everyone is here today so there’s nothing to worry about. Also there are some who imagine that when the time comes death is slow. The reality is death is not always slow. You may not have the unfortunate luxury of receiving a phone that a loved one was in a car accident. While you speed over to the hospital you might think of the worse and hope for the best. You arrive and you get to spend time with the person before they leave this earth.  That’s not always the case.  The reality is that death isn’t always slow. Tragedy is quick and unexpected. It may be too late once you get that dreaded phone call.

I’m exhausted and my day started off somewhat gloomy before I even watched the news. The point of this isn’t to drag you all into my cloudy mood today. The point is to remind you that you should spend time with your loved ones, family and real friends. I know tragedy always reminds people of this, however, how long does it last before we forget? I’m guilty of this myself and may even be worse than some. My immediate family and most of closest friends all live down the street from me pretty much, but I don’t see them as much as I should. I love my family and true friends. I cherish every moment I spend with them. Out of all my past and future posts this is probably one of the most important things I will ever say. Spend time with your loved ones.

– Vic Louis

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Spend Time With Your Loved Ones

  1. Great point Vic. I am a first time reader and this is a great post. I saw the story on the Today Show this morning and was deeply saddened by it. In fact, I always think about my loved ones and what would happen if I lost one of them…I try my best to spend time with them as much as I can and let them know that they are loved.

    It really doesn’t take much.

    A phone call.

    A dinner out.

    A movie in.

    Or anything in between…even an e-mail to let them know you care.

  2. Best buddy

    That is definitely true and very good post…And don’t forget about your friends in florida too haha and not referring to one in fort lauderdale 🙂

  3. bubblez410

    This is a great reminder because life is full of surprises and I have to admit I sometimes find myself taking life and my loved ones for granted. You always gotta take the time to tell those around you how much they mean to you! 🙂

  4. Inquiring M.

    touchy topic for me so I’ll just co-sign… great post Vic.

  5. I’m totally with you on this. Tempus Fugit. Great blog btw, keep it going and best wishes on your blogging life. From a “classmate”.

Leave a Reply

