That New Car Smell pt. II

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, this is a 2 part series. If you haven’t read it yet, I’m talking about how people do all these things when a relationship is new. Once the newness dies, the flavor seems to dissipate as well. Yesterday was about the sweet little nothings that a person does at first. Then it turns into them doing, well… nothing. Today I’m going to say the things some people don’t want to hear and say the things other people are scared to say. Today, I’m getting into taking care of your body.

I could actually avoid this whole part of it by simply saying, not all change is good. However, people interpret things differently so I’m forced to dig in. Now I might say somethings here that offend some people, but read the whole thing before taking anything to the heart.

People, men and women, seem to let themselves go once they settle down. Guys, remember that girl in college who made you forget what and where your next class was? Yea her, looked good right? Then you see her years later and ask “what the f*ck is that?” Not even who, but what. She let herself go because she had no one to impress anymore, not even herself.  And ladies remember that guy who sent chills through your body whenever you saw him? Made you say “Damn he’s fine.” He had rock hard abs and if you punched him in the gut you could hurt your hand. Yea him, looked good right? Then you see him years later and if you punched him, his stomach would suck you in. In fact it looks like had twins for lunch.

Sadly weight might be more of a touchy subject than racism and homosexuality. That being said, before I get any hate mail that I’m going to delete faster than you sent it, focus on what I’m really saying. This isn’t about my type of woman. Unless you are trying to impress me, which you shouldn’t be, my ideal type is irrelevant. I’m not picking on any size type because everyone has their own preference. This isn’t about just gaining weight, the same applies to someone who drastically loses weight and looks like a crackhead. This is strictly about those who just give up because they’re “comfortable.” Not only that, they’re comfortable and their spouse or what have you is seriously unhappy because of it.

Whether you are big or small when you meet someone they accept you that way. They fall in love with you they way you are. That’s a beautiful thing. If you both are happy and none of this matters to you (and you know for a fact your mate feels this way also), then you can completely disregard this post. More power to you. Not everyone rides that boat, however. Obviously if someone truly loves you, they won’t leave you because of bodily changes. However, is it really a reason to stop taking care of yourself the way you did before?

It might all seem shallow or silly to some. Maybe it is. However, I seriously think it’s a large reason why some couples lose the spice in their relationship. They lose the physical attraction to each other they once had.They stop doing all the things they did to catch their significant other. Stop doing the things they did to keep their significant other early in the relationship. Once they reach their comfort zone, they just give up. Whether it is looks or the sweet little somethings, people just give up. I can’t see the future, but I hope my future wife and I are not those people. When my 50th anniversary comes around, I want to be able to say that my wife still gives me tingles when she walks into the room. More importantly, I want her to be able to say the same about me.

– Vic Louis

Ok I lied, it’s now a 3 part series.

Sorry this is late. I’m stuck in a meeting. This is being published from my phone so if there are errors, my apologies.

1 Comment

Filed under dating, Marriage, men, relationships, Women

One response to “That New Car Smell pt. II

  1. Great article, thanks for sharing this. I have subscribed to your RSS feed and am looking forward to reading more from you.
    Keep up the good work and don’t stop posting please.

Leave a Reply

