Prime Time

Jokingly I blame a lot of things on MTV. Things such as global warming, the cost of oil, and Vanilla Ice. All jokes aside there is one thing I truly blame them for – reality tv. I admit in college I faithfully watched 2 out of the 57 seasons of Real World. The popularity of the Real World ignited a pandemonium for every network to create various reality shows. How many wedding reality shows does there really need to be? As a result, every night I turn on the tv and there is nothing for me to watch. There are no tv shows that I’m excited to rush home for. I got into 24, but after 4 seasons I got tired of hearing Jack Bauer scream WHERE’S THE BOMB!?

Outside of reality tv I feel that everything else are just spin-offs . For example, after the ER series finale at least 5 new hospital shows emerged. That’s excluding the few hospital shows that came out a few seasons after ER. Where’s the creativity? Because of this lack of great television programming, I’m forced to sit here and think about the tv shows I miss.

Cosby Show
I don’t care what anybody says. If you didn’t like or watch Cosby show, something is wrong with you. You are lacking many brain cells, I’m sorry. America’s favorite family. You know as a child you wanted to be part of the Cosby family. Sure, like every other popular show it has been syndicated, but I blame violence in America due to this show ending.

Fresh Prince of Bel-Air
Although “Summertime” is a classic, I think it’s safe to Mr. Willard Smith wouldn’t be as far as he is now on his music career alone. This show always gave me a good laugh. It’s been about 20 years since the first episode aired and I can still go back and be entertained. If not by the storyline, then by Will’s loud clothing and Carlton’s corniness.

Martin
Martin Lawrence, Tisha Campbell, and Cockroach from the Cosby Show? Hilarious. I know I’m not the only one who misses this show because the majority of black households tuned in every Thursday night for this in the mid-90’s. This show ended far too early.

New York Undercover
Malik Yoba! His name alone provides me with a few seconds of entertainment. The tv show provided me an hour of entertainment every Thursday night I believe. Right after Martin and Living Single if my memory serves me correctly. There’s plenty of police dramas out there now, but it’s just not the same.
Side note: I’m convinced Detective Torres is in Michael Jackson’s “Beat It” video. If not that, then he’s in the “Bad” video.

There’s probably more shows, but that’s all I can think of for now. Thanks to TvOne and other networks I can catch most of these shows when I actually remember to tune in. It’s not the same though. Have you seen the latest KY Jelly commercials? Well that’s what prime time television needs because these shows are lacking in the explosion department. Leaving me dry and unsatisfied.

– Vic Louis
p.s. “Remove the obstacles and follow your dreams.”
Deep huh? I got that from a tv show called Hung, which is about exactly what it sounds like. Go figure.

5 Comments

Filed under What I'm thinking

5 responses to “Prime Time

  1. Inquiring M.

    “Leaving me dry and unsatisfied”

    Awwww Nawwww… That’s definitely no way to be… DEFINITELY! However, “Hung” you say? I’ll be tuning in. lol

  2. bubblez410

    Omg, this post brought me down memory lane….lol def good times, my sis and I use to faithfully watch most if not all of the shows mentioned…. 🙂

  3. New York undercover! WOOOOOOOORRRRDDDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!
    No 21 jump street? Ok fine.
    Happy Days? That was my all time favorite show. No frigin joke!

  4. skinnyT

    Yes. Detective Torres was a backup dancer in Michael’s “Beat It” video.
    Had to make sure that was known, it bothered me somehow that there was uncertainty about it.
    I dont know why, dont ask…..

    Oh and what about A-Team, Married with Children, and The Arsenio Hall Show!

Leave a Reply

