For the Love of Money

“For the love of money
People will steal from their mother
For the love of money
People will rob their own brother
For the love of money
People can’t even walk the street
Because they never know who in the world they’re gonna beat
For that lean, mean, mean green
Almighty dollar, money”   – The O’Jays

Believe me, I’m all for making money. That is why I work hard for it. How else would I deal with my monthly bank-account-pick-pocketers? Money doesn’t rule my life, however, it certainly is a necessity. Without it I would not be able to feed myself and my 12 kids. In any event, there’s just certain things I couldn’t do.*

I have heard tales of parents opening credit lines in their children’s names. Poor Rita tries to buy a house only to discover she has all sorts out outstanding loans. I’ve heard the tales in vice versa and heard of siblings doing it to each other. I have heard of folks stealing the personal property of family. Sadly, these are not just tales and it really does happen. How does anyone do that? I feel guilty just writing about it.

There are some homeless people out there who wouldn’t steal a dime from anyone and they got it bad. Yet you have people who don’t have it half as bad, stealing from their own family. What part of the game is that? I wouldn’t be able to comfortably sleep at night if I borrowed $50 from a family member. Forget about being able to steal from one. There are quite a few people in the world that I categorize as deserving to be stoned. If you can steal from your own blood and not feel the slightest bit of remorse, you fit right into that category.

*Besides selling my body.

– Vic Louis
Sorry for the brief disappearance. Working hard, hard-working.
Oh, and the post was inspired by New Jack City. If you just asked yourself what’s that? You’ve been deprived of the early 90’s. Sigh….just google it and play along.

3 Comments

Filed under What I'm thinking

3 responses to “For the Love of Money

  1. Forgot to add this sidenote: You should all check your credit yearly. Yes you too, person with beyond terrible credit. Why? Because do you want someone besides yourself, f*cking up your piss poor credit score? If you just did a *kanye shrug* …… smh

  2. Inquiring M.

    In any event, there’s just certain things I couldn’t do.*
    *Besides selling my body.

    So wait are you saying you could sell your body or you couldn’t? I feel like I should know this but I really can’t figure it out… *sigh*.

Leave a Reply

