The Crash

DSC04479
Image by Mick E. Talbot via Flickr

“Mark, you are driving too fast, slow down.”

“Can you please just leave me alone Emma? I just want to get home and go to bed.”

“Fine, I’ll leave you alone. I wish you would tell me why you’re so angry with me.”  I’m not sure what I did, but he’s angrier than a tied-up starving pitbull. He’s trying to pretend otherwise, but his tone would scare a lion away. Whatever he’s upset about, the drinks he put down are probably amplifying it. If we get pulled over he’s going to jail for sure. He smells like he is wearing whiskey scented cologne. I don’t even know how he sees anything. The road has no street lights and apparently we’re the only ones crazy enough to be driving out there at this time of night.

I have to look away from so I don’t say anything further. I wipe off the fog from my window and hopelessly stare out of it. The thousands of snow covered trees are barely visible. My thoughts are interrupted by what sounds like a firecracker with a speakerphone attached to it. It was loud to enough to make me jump out of my seat, more than the unexpected speed bump our old rusty car flew over. Still with a fire in his eyes, Mark is staring at me. After several seconds pass by,  he opens the door and finally speaks  “Stay in the car,” he says. I climb out and follow him.

“I told you to stay in the car!” His breath clouds the cold air like cigarette smoke.

“What did you hit?”

“I dunno, it’s too fucking dark to see anything.”

“Mark, mind your language please.”  He only swears when he is frustrated and drunk.

”Let’s go.”

“Sounds like you popped a tire, did you check?

“It wasn’t a popping sound and the tire is fine. I ran over something. I said let’s go.”

“It felt like you hit something. I asked you to stop driving so fast and you had too many drinks. You were drinking whiskey like a fish in water. Let me drive.”

“I wasn’t speeding and I’m not drunk dammit! I tried to swerve but the fucking roads are still icy from the snow storm. Just get in the car, it’s freezing out here.”

I got in the car, “Swerved from what? You said you ran over something.” He is ignoring me. Even though I’ve been staring at him for minutes now. I don’t really understand this new look in his eyes. We drive home in silence while I try to figure it out. By the time we reach our street, I still haven’t come up with anything.

We are inside now; the 30 minute ride was quieter than a shy first grader. He stormed up the stairs without saying a goodnight to me. I hate it when he does that. It’s late, but I’ll wash the dishes. I can’t sleep with dirty dishes in the sink. I’m too wound up to go to bed right now anyways. I’m startled by the doorbell ringing. I’m almost scared to go open it, who could possibly be ringing the bell at this time, I wonder. I would wake up Mark first, but I see an ocean of flashing blue and red lights. I open the door and an officer is waiting with a strict look on his face.

“Can I help you, Officer, it’s pretty late.”

“Ma’am, is that your blue Honda?”

“Yes it is officer. Is there a problem?”

“Ma’am, we believe you were involved in an accident and left the scene.”

“ Well my husband ran over something on the way home. It was probably just a squirrel.”

“It was a little boy Ma’am. You and your husband need to come with us.”

– Vic Louis
p.s.     This is another homework assignment, well with a few quick edits based off the professor’s comments. Some of her other suggestions would take a little time to change. This time for the assignment we were just given the character names and the fact that they hit something while driving on a dark road.

It’s been a hectic week, haven’t had time to think, forget about actually writing it. I figured I’d at least share this instead of nothing at all. As always, hope you liked it.   Anyway, almost caught up with my work, so no more 12hr shifts after today…. hopefully.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

