The Window

Persienn

Image via Wikipedia

My eyes are bloodshot. Today has been the longest stakeout in my history of surveillance. I should be wired after downing several cups of black coffee and Red Bull, but it no longer has any effect on me. I suppose I’m immune to caffeine, an immunity built from overuse. The only thing changing about this day is the time. Time spent looking through a piece of dirty glass, a mirror with a dull reflection, a window.

It’s been two hours since I’ve been staring out of my window looking into another without any activity other than what’s in the street. Two hours since my green partner has been gone. It doesn’t take anyone that long to get coffee, not even a rookie. Crowds of people walk by, unaware of their proximity to Garrison, one of the world’s most dangerous men. They are going about with their lives unaware that I’m watching them all. Watching through my transparent portal, I see a lot of things other than what I’m here for.

I see a beautiful woman in a short purple dress, maybe too short. I even see the man behind her gawking with no shame. I see a homeless man with a cup out, asking for spare change. I also see that he has $500 shoes on, the homeless life must be good to him. I see a man strolling down the street, he’s a skyscraper. He walks with his head high, but it’s just a facade. Through this window I can see right through him, right into his soul. He lacks self-assurance. He is worried about what people think about him. He is worried about the way he walks and the way he talks. I’m staring at myself.

Finally there’s movement behind the window. There he is, Willie “Two Guns” Garrison, America’s most wanted, holding a cup of coffee. He fully opens the curtain like it’s a new sunny morning. If I’m not mistaken I swear he is looking right at me, smiling. He steps out of the window view and I realize why he is so happy. He is happy because he thinks he won. He has my partner tied up in chair and gagged. Two goons are behind him, each with a gun pointing at his head. There’s nothing I can do, I’m only equipped with binoculars and a pistol that is out of range. Between me and the life of my apprentice are two windows and nothing but distance.

Unfortunately there’s a problem for my friend Mr. Garrison. I don’t lose, and his feeling of victory came too soon. I am not the only one staring through a window. I have two snipers with a green light to squeeze their triggers. In a matter of seconds Garrison’s goons are down. I bet when they woke up this morning, they didn’t know staring through a window would be the last thing they did before their last breath. I can’t think about that now, I have a life to save and a life to take.

I’m outside now, running and dodging speeding cars as if a stampede is behind me, not looking back. I can see lips move getting ready to curse my name, but they are silenced by the site of my big black gun. I enter the apartment complex and spot the doors to the stairwell and pick up the pace. I run up 8 flights of stairs and finally reach room 825. I take a moment to catch my breath and wipe the sweat from my brow. I kick the door down and find Garrison cowering in a corner like a frail child. I expected more of a fight from such a notorious criminal. I walk to the window and signal to the snipers it’s over. I hear a loud deafening gunshot behind me. I turn ready to fire and I see Garrison sprawled out with a .22 in his hand. Damn, saved by a rookie. He’s already smiling like he just won the Superbowl, he’s never going to let me forget this.

– Vic Louis
p.s.  This is a homework assignment from last week. Didn’t have time to write something new today so I just revised it and published.  The assignment was to write something titled “The Window” and this is what I came up with, hope you liked it.   Hmm.. just had a lightbulb moment. Ok thanks, bye.

If I don’t post anything tomorrow, have a Happy Thanksgiving.

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Window

  1. Inquiring M.

    Nice…”if [you] don’t post to tomorrow”??? Bwoy bye… we all know you won’t be nowhere (gotta love dubble negatives) near this site on Turkey Day… at least I hope not.

Leave a comment